Archive | 1:32 am

SNOW DAY!!

10 Dec

 Only 3 more semesters of hearing those 2 wonderful words before I have to be a ‘big girl‘ & face our awesome economy head-on & try to find a job. Anyone need a bubbly, scatterbrained, smart-mouthed female with a graphics degree? I MEAN punctual, responsible, reliable & accountable female with a degree in graphic design…. ; )

Anyway, this snow day has given me extra spare time I didn’t originally have. So while I haven’t been watching out my window as cars struggle just to make it up the street & the poor girls at Cruise ‘N’ Coffee (popular coffee establishment up here) freeze their little faces off each time they open the window to serve a drink, I’ve gotten to spend some real quality time with one of my favorite websites: StumbleUpon.

I’m a big Harry Potter fan so imagine how much this piqued my interest when I stumbled upon this Wikipedia page (I’m a self-proclaimed nerd so don’t bother with teasing me about it): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Potter_and_the_Hall_of_Elders’_Crossing

Know what that is? No, I didn’t either until I read further into it. Author George Norman Lippert (who I’ve never heard of before this) has written a spinoff of the Harry Potter series based on Harry’s son, James. The book is called James Potter & the Hall of Elders’ Crossing. I was skeptical, of course. Nothing can compare to J.K. Rowling’s writing style with her book series & when I first realized what I’d stumbled upon, my initial thought was “Ridiculous!”.

Being the H.P. fanatic I am, however, I couldn’t just click the ‘Stumble’ icon again & go to another webpage. I had to investigate further. After the infamous Google search that everything gets nowadays, I came upon 2 links of interest. The first I’ll share with you is a review of Lippert’s book by blogger, Oonae. It contains some spoilers, yes, but depending on how much of a Potter fan you are, it may convince you to read or not to read the spinoff series. Yes, I said series. Apparently there are 3 books thus far & I haven’t learned enough about it yet to know if Lippert will continue with more. SO, without further delay, I link you to James Potter & the Hall of Elders’ Crossing site, that will provide you with a downloadable PDF file of the book. Yeah, the music & sound on the page is annoying so I’d recommend bookmarking it & closing the heck out of the window. I was on page 6 when I realized that it would just be rude of me not to share this with anyone who doesn’t know. Hopefully it’ll be a good read for some over their approaching winter break!

: )

Gotta say, I like the Harry Potter series illustrator better… but I guess that’s to be expected.